Stepping up my game

21Feb08

Starting this blog was one form of me stepping up my game.  It has caused me to really think about a topic from a few different angles before hitting those little keys on the keyboard.  I find myself reading a lot and trying to stay more up to date with technology news and events so that I am in front rather than trailing behind.  All in all I would say it is working out well, though there is a long way to go.

When I was a kid I would always play sports with the older kids during the off seasons.  This made me a better athlete because I was challenged by the older kids to play at their level, and I did.  The same holds true in most aspects of life I think, you play at the level of your peers.  My current peer group is great and make up about 80% of my readership (thanks guys).  We are a tight group of former colleagues that have stayed in touch through the years.  As great as this is, we are all pretty much working on the same things and for the most part are all playing at the same level.

By this point you are probably wondering where I am going with this and if you are not then I am surprised.  Another part of me stepping up my game is to get out there and be challenged.  After finding out about it through some blogs I frequent and being urged to attend I made my way to a BeanSec meeting tonight in Cambridge.  BeanSec is a local gathering of security focused guys and gals that get together and talk about rainbows and puppies.  What?  I was just checking to see if you were still paying attention.  They talk about security, well that is the focus anyway.  As I was saying, I went to the monthly meeting tonight and had a blast.  I met some very smart and interesting people and engaged in some good conversation around technology and security.  While I think I have a lot to add into the mix, many of these folks are much deeper than me in different areas of technology and specifically security so I look forward to learning a lot and stepping up my game.

No Responses Yet to “Stepping up my game”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

