Happy Fathers Day

15Jun08

To all the fathers out there, Happy Fathers Day.  If you are not a father I assume you at least know one….so go wish them the same.

I am a father and have two great kids but the majority of this post will be about their Grampy, my old man.  He is a fantastic father and grandfather so I find myself to be very lucky having him in my life.  Whenever I need help or advice he is there to help and these days it is much more involved than when I was younger.  Regardless of the request, from help finishing a basement, re-wiring appliances, or fixing my backswing he is there for me.

He has taught me so much through the years and for that I am forever grateful.  My dad is the kind of guy that does everything himself.  He is a jack-of-all-trades who seems to know how to do it all.  This allowed me to watch, learn, and sometimes help.  He was also very involved in my sports activities when I was young in between working overtime, rebuilding the house, and occasionally sleeping.  He taught me how to drive through the ball when at the plate, square my shoulders when laying the smack down on a RB, keep my head down when trying to hit a golf ball, the merits of never giving up, and to always give 110%.  I have so many great memories of time with my dad.

Our relationship was not always full of sunshine and rainbows however.  He didn’t praise everything I did, but rarely missed an opportunity to point out my faults.  I didn’t hear “I love you” and get showered with hugs and kisses constantly.  It was a different time back then when hitting your kid was an accepted practice, some of which I deserved and some I didn’t.  I feared the wrath of dad. I vividly remember the arguing, the fights, the disappointments, the alcohol…but when all is said and done I wouldn’t trade it for the world.  

You see, I learned many things from both the good and the bad.  These experiences have had a profound impact on who I am today, and that I think is a good thing.  He didn’t try to be my friend, he tried to be my dad…and he did his best.  I hope that I can be as successful in raising my boys as he was and that some day they will reflect upon me with similar results.

So Dad, thank you for everything and I look forward to many more years of good memories for me and the boys.

No Responses Yet to “Happy Fathers Day”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

